top of page
  • Writer's pictureLauren Zhou

Interview: Kat Duavit



Her story:


Katherine (Kat) Duavit is a rising high school sophomore from the Philippines. Driven by her passion for literature and women empowerment, she co-founded Lit for Girls—an organization that aims to empower young women nationwide by equipping them with literature, which allows them to develop their own views and voices. You can follow their Instagram @litforgirls.



How has English or language served as an empowerment tool for you?


“I grew up in a very conservative Asian household. Hence, it was a belief forced down upon me that men were the breadwinners of the family, while women were expected to serve their husbands and do household chores. Growing up, I was taught not to question this social hierarchy and to merely accept it as the norm. I was content being mediocre. Though, every now and then, I had these recurrent thoughts infiltrating my mind, telling me that I could do more. And, that I could be more. One day, I started reading books such as Pride and Prejudice, Little Women, Jane Eyre, and so on and so forth. I instantly fell in love with reading. Later on, I also developed a love for writing. Reading was like an escape for me. Just for a little while, I could escape my current reality and see the world in the perspective of someone I aspired to be an empowered woman.


Characters like Jo March and Elizabeth Bennet gave me the courage to rise above social prejudice and gender inequity- they helped me realize that us women are worth so much more than what society ought us to be. English helped me formulate my own voice. Moreover, Literature helped me garner enough confidence to use that said voice. Together, those two tools helped me become the woman that I am today. I no longer adhere to societal norms. Moreover, I now use my voice not only to educate and inspire; but also to speak up when social injustices have taken place.


I wanted to share this newfound tool of mine. Hence, the inauguration of “ Litforgirls “. My friend and I started this non-profit organization to help inspire and empower other women through the wherewithal of Literature and education.


I truly believe that Literature helps women express themselves by putting their feelings about certain issues into words. All around the world, there are these external factors telling women that “ they can’t “. Instead of adhering to those external factors, Literature helps women by giving them the confidence and the voice to say 'I can'."

bottom of page